Australia make perfect start with convincing victory over Pakistan


Australia make perfect start with convincing victory over Pakistan

Click here for photo gallery

They say that futsal is like football with basketball-esque pace. The opening fixture of the IFA Under 17 World Cup was a perfect showcase of just that as Australia beat Pakistan 31-0.

The Aussies made a fast start to settle themselves as they notched three goals in the first five minutes. After that their quality on the ball shone through as they went on offensive shopping spree. By half time they were 13-0 up.

The second half was no different as the Aussies continued to assert themselves by notching some sublime goals. As the final whistle went, with 31 goals to their name, they could look back on a job well done in their opening tournament fixture.

The game was barely a minute old by the time the first goal arrived. Jose Atayde was the man to open the scoring as he cut in from the left and fired a low shot past Pakistan ‘keeper Moneeb Ur Rehan Khan.

Australian skipper Patrick Langlois was soon on the scoresheet after unleashing a fearsome strike at goal straight down the middle.

After some quality saves from Rehan Khan to keep Pakistan in it the third goal was scored in the fifth minute following some beautiful build up play. Langlois initiated the move by playing in Liam Dawson who returned the favour by making an exquisite pass back to his captain. Langlois couldn’t miss from such close range.

Langlois grabbed his third after tenaciously winning the ball back in midfield, driving forward and pile driving the ball into the bottom right hand corner.

Dawson then scored one of the goals of the game after a back heeled finish made it 5-0.

Goals from Lachlan Buxton and Matt Schmidt made it 7-0 by the 10th minute before Langlois added his fourth following a superb set up from Musa Kamara.

Kamara then scored one for himself, before a Manoli Papaspiropolos double and a Jared Linger strike made it 12-0.

On the stroke of half time Dawson executed another contender for goal of the game as he performed a second successful back heeled flick finish after latching onto a cross from Atayde.

Half Time: Australia 13-0 Pakistan

Despite Pakistan’s never say die attitude Australia’s skill and application continued at the sublime level it had been at before the break.

Atayde added two more in the opening stages of the second period prior to Kevin Robertson banging in goal number 16 from close range.

Mitch Dobson then scored the 17th goal after firing in from a well-worked free kick routine. The Aussie number 4 then added goal number 18 and goal 19 for good measure.

In the 28th minute Kamara topped up his goal account after superbly cutting inside and powering his strike into the bottom right hand corner.

Papaspiropolos then scored two within a minute before Dobson’s direct free kick strike made it 23-0.

Dawson then added two more goals for himself, and his team, before Linger grabbed number 26 after resolutely winning possession back and firing home.

With the game now in its final five minutes Australia refused to take their foot of the accelerator as Atayde, Kamara and Robertson scored 27, 28 and 29 respectively.

In the final minute Pakistan were afforded a chance of a conciliation as Hashim Khan latched onto a long pass forward. Harley Brown, in goal for Australia, was on hand to make the decisive point blank save.

Robertson then scored Australia’s 30th before Buxton claimed goal number 31 to secure the cherry on top of the icing of their delicious cake.

Despite Pakistan’s very best attempts Australia’s play was too sumptuous in the opening fixture. As far as winning starts go it’s fair to say the Aussie’s have set the bar extremely high.

Full Time: Australia 31-0 Pakistan

Australia: Harley Brown, Jared Linger, Jose Atayde, Mitch Dobson, Kevin Robertson, Matt Schmidt, Lachlan Buxton, Patrick Langlois, Manoli Papaspiropolos, Kane Pollard, Musa Kamara, Liam Dawson, Seth Telfer, Seb Stankovic

Star Player: Langlois

Pakistan: Chaudhry Muhammad Hussan, Ibrar Khan, Moiz Akhtar Ganhera, Syed Muhammad Hussain Raza, Moneeb Ur Rehan Khan, Muhammad Haseeb Iqbel, Muhammad Ahmed Raza Khan, Kumail Fattahy Pour, Hashim Khan

Star Player: Rehan Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *